"Thanks and thanks again to Him who offers to the man whom the sorrows of life have assaulted and left naked–offers to him the fig leaf of the Word with which he can cover his wretchedness." -Søren Kierkegaard

“Congratulations! You’re Having A Baby ______!”

Posted in Day-To-Day, Family by matt on Wednesday, March 20, 2013

A photo of m'lady getting an ultrasound.

Here, the spring rain looks a lot like beige paint.

Dust blows off the mountains and collides with oncoming clouds, and the city’s coloring somehow gets even drabber. We made our way uphill through the bazaar, pausing to work out signs in Arabic. My wife finally identified her doctor’s name, and we ducked into the building. I scooted old cigarette butts across the floor with my foot while my wife put her name on the list.

“The doctor will see you now.”

Over twenty-five women would hear that before us, but we were too excited to let the four hour wait deter us—we would see our child today.

The next few hours involved a lot of shifting, pacing, staring, dozing, and scraping the dirty rain off my glasses.

When I first heard how uninvolved the men are for this part of their wive’s pregnancies, I’ll admit, I cast judgement. How could they just leave their wives to all of these appointments? Some of the pregnant woman had children with them!

Now, sitting in a waiting room surrounded by nervous women, I get it. Not even their layers of make-up and head-scarves could shield them from my unwelcome presence. Noting their discomfort, I tried to spend as much time outside as possible. I even tried to strike up a conversation with the men waiting outside in the halls, but they just gave me looks that seemed to say “Hush-up, don’t you know this is woman-territory?”

Finally, our turn came. I heard a lady giggle when I went into the “sonar” room with Cayla. If men didn’t come into the waiting room, they definitely didn’t go into the ultrasound room. Just to make sure I looked like a three-headed weirdo, I also pulled out a camera.

Thankfully, the ultrasound tech had experience with foreigners, and she even smiled for one of the pictures. After a minute of wand-gooing and “hmmm”-ing to herself, she told us the sex, how the baby is developing, and our due date.

But, if you’d like to find out all that, you’ll just have to come back later and keep reading!

Leave a Reply

