"Thanks and thanks again to Him who offers to the man whom the sorrows of life have assaulted and left naked–offers to him the fig leaf of the Word with which he can cover his wretchedness." -Søren Kierkegaard

Carl Truman on “The Importance of Not Studying Theology”

Posted in Good Quotes, Theological by matt on Tuesday, May 18, 2010

I found this quote on a guy’s blog awhile back and it exploded my mind. For anyone else who wants a sweet reminder of the purpose of theological study, the rest of the article can be found here. If you want a summary (and my favorite part) read below:

“The study of theology is not a chase after something or a movement beyond where we start our Christian lives; it is rather a reflection upon the foundations of where we already are. The end term is, strange to tell, the beginning. I start by confessing with my mouth that Jesus is Lord and believing in my heart that God raised him from the dead, and I never actually go any further. All my theology, all my study, is simply reflection on what lies behind that. Thus, I never move beyond praise, never leave behind the beauty of adoration of the living God; I simply learn more and more about the deep foundations upon which that praise and worship rest, which all believers share from the most brilliant to the most humble.”

-Carl Truman

Tagged with:

Leave a Reply

