"Thanks and thanks again to Him who offers to the man whom the sorrows of life have assaulted and left naked–offers to him the fig leaf of the Word with which he can cover his wretchedness." -Søren Kierkegaard

Spiritual Inoculation

Posted in Day-To-Day, Theological by matt on Thursday, January 28, 2010

The Wednesday before last we met up for Fuel, our midweek meeting where we catch up, pray together, eat food, read, etc.

My attitude wasn’t great going into it, but I went anyway because I knew it’s my duty as the ‘facilitator.’ I got there, forced my smiles, and tried my best to hide the fact that I was feeling desensitized toward what is usually my favorite part of the week.

Everyone had split into smaller groups to discuss the passage, and I moved from group to group hoping to help guide the discussions. This week’s passage was the part in Mark 10 when Jesus tells his followers:

“See, we are going up to Jerusalem, and the Son of Man will be delivered over to the chief priests and the scribes, and they will condemn him to death and deliver him over to the Gentiles. And they will mock him and spit on him, and flog him and kill him. And after three days he will rise.”

Then one Thai guy who I’d never met before was totally amazed by this text. He got really excited and started asking questions like, “Did he really come back to life?!” and “How did he know he was going to die?”

The guy’s questions were so fresh and honest – it startled me! When I’m at Bible study I’m much more accustomed to glazed eyes, short attention-spans, and partial interest. But at the end of the night (after a looong talk about the suffering and death that Jesus requires) the guy committed himself to Christ.

But, the more I thought about his childlike eagerness for Truth and understanding, the more frustrated I got with myself. Don’t get me wrong, though, I’m enthused for him and his decision – really!

I just want to understand why I’m so inoculated toward so many things. How do we ‘denoculate’ ourself toward people, work, the Bible, etc.? I’m going to spend time thinking about this, and I’d appreciate any insights.

Tagged with: , ,

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. michaelcriner said, on Thursday, January 28, 2010 at 9:15 pm

    Pray for mercy that it doesn’t set in… and when it does, pray for the grace to come out of it.

  2. Shimona said, on Monday, February 8, 2010 at 12:17 am

    Have you ever seen how a young child reacts to their first “real” injury? Ie. a tiiiiiiny cut/bruise. — it’s like the end of the world… they cry and howl like nobody’s business. (My mom tells me in fact, that when I was a kid, I came crying with a cut once, screaming and saying I was gonna die! Hehehe)
    But if you think about it – it makes so much sense – kids have never encountered mortality before, and don’t know what to expect. It surprises them, catches them unawares. But as we grow up, we know better – we mature… we lost that child-like innocence.

    See, I don’t think it’s a matter of “denoculating” ourselves so much as being able to constantly finding ways to be around people who are discovering – so that we are able to maintain some of that childlike awe and amazement.
    But growing mature in the Lord doesn’t mean we grow old.

    Yes, we absolutely need to pray that God opens our eyes to the true splendor of His grace… that we will never take it for granted. But we do not need to look upon the length of our time since having first encountered that “virgin-awe” as something bad and negatively-challenging… the younger Chrisitans need the maturity that “Oldies” can offer, and Oldies need the innocence and vigor the Newbies offer.

    That’s why we live in community.
    That’s why relationships are so essential. ;)

    • matt said, on Monday, February 8, 2010 at 6:55 pm

      “…be around people who are discovering” – great insight! I think that makes a lot of sense, and it makes sense to say that we should be people who are constantly discovering and experimenting as well.

      Thanks for the thoughts, Shimona. No doubt your insights are from the waterfall pork and sticky rice. Behold the power of Isaan =)

  3. Shimona said, on Tuesday, February 9, 2010 at 1:02 am

    55555555….. *shakes head* Matt, Matt….


Leave a Reply

