"Thanks and thanks again to Him who offers to the man whom the sorrows of life have assaulted and left naked–offers to him the fig leaf of the Word with which he can cover his wretchedness." -Søren Kierkegaard

I Like Twitter

Posted in Social Media by matt on Thursday, January 7, 2010

Those smiles could only mean one thing: they're reading my twitter page. See what you're missing out on?

I like Twitter.

Yep, I’m one of those people. What began as dabbling (encouraged by my dad, of all people) eventually became interest.

But it didn’t take long to realize that using twitter the same way I use Facebook would only frustrate me.

For me, Facebook is a way to keep up with people I already know: invite them over to eat, catch up, check their pictures, etc. You know, the standard stuff we all do when Facebook-stalking people.

But I’m not really interested in using it to meet people. Cocktail parties are superficial enough, but a gigantic online cocktail party? No thanks.

Back to Twitter.

On their Wikipedia page, twitter’s CEO says  “We think of Twitter as it’s not a social network, but it’s an information network.”

Awkward wording aside, that’s a great synopsis of twitter’s usefulness. Twitter is about information. In fact, twitter is a stock-exchange for information.

You ‘invest’ in a person’s shared information by following them, retweeting (sort of like forwarding an email) their stuff, or – and this is the most important thing – by reading/discussing/getting involved with them beyond just their Twitter feed.

And the beauty is you only listen to people you want to, and there’s nothing they can do about it. That means that, with Twitter, there are no annoying relatives who clutter your inbox with forwards because you don’t have to follow them.

And you don’t have to put up with that guy expounding upon his bowel movements with lucid imagery and pictures, because you don’t have to follow him!

And, if you’re a bleeding heart who hates upsetting people, think of it this way: it’s not that you blocked them, you just…didn’t hear them. Right? Eh?

So, however obscure your interests may be, there are tons of niches for you to join and network in, learn from, influence and converse in. So sign up for an account and give it a try!

If ya like, you can even follow me here, and then drop me if you’re not feeling it (liberating isn’t it?). This was also a helpful blog post for me on reasons for tweeting.

Happy tweeting!

Tagged with: ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. JCourt said, on Thursday, January 7, 2010 at 6:16 am

    great word! I love it for all these reasons, too. Today I needed the stock exchange of information on triage, pediatric surgery, congenital heart disease, and some other time sensitive stuff relevant to my work today. I didn’t turn to Google… I turned to Twitter and “searched” all those topics. Not only did it return plenty of articles off Twitter that were classics, many months/years old; it also produced results that were two minutes old about a girl who had just learned she would NOT die from her heart disease; a parent whose child had just died from heart disease; and other Iraqis facing similar things as the families we help. Twitter has the depth of Google and the immediacy of a cell phone… I love it!

    • matt said, on Thursday, January 7, 2010 at 8:39 pm

      And you’ve found a use for Twitter beyond the banal. That’s key. I look forward to joining you in that.


Leave a Reply

