"Thanks and thanks again to Him who offers to the man whom the sorrows of life have assaulted and left naked–offers to him the fig leaf of the Word with which he can cover his wretchedness." -Søren Kierkegaard

Adventure Weekend

Posted in Friends, Travel by matt on Wednesday, December 23, 2009

Last Sunday I went with my friend, Golf (his nickname, and he doesn’t even like the sport), on a little excursion through the Thai countryside. He’s invited me to visit home 2 or 3 times before, but I’d always been busy with other stuff.

His invitation went something like, “Matt, come ride  bicycle with me at my home.” So, with that incredibly detailed idea of what we were going to do in mind, I said, “Sure!”

At 6am Sunday morning we hop a van to a city called “Lumnarai” to go ride bikes. When we arrive, however, we find this:

Then Golf asked me, “You want 60, 40, or 20 kilometers?” Still trying to be a team-player, I responded, “…20?” He said that’s what he wanted to do since we were just here ‘for fun’. So we registered in the 20 kilometer/age 13 and under division, and he gave me a bike and a pair of man-dex tights. Here’s us at the starting line:

Now, I have…issues with bikes. The first time I ever rode I bike I hurtled down a hill, slammed into a wall, and wracked myself beyond all reason. Most of my scars are also from bike crashes. So I’d rather walk 20 kilometers any day of the week, but they had already gotten me to the starting line and into the tightest clothes I’d ever worn, so what’s a little race, right? And it’s against 13 yr-old girls, so I’m sure to win.

Here’s us after we got owned by nearly all (I beat one! Muahahaha) of the 13 (and under) yr-old girls:

So we survived, and, despite the fact that I had played basketball for 3 hours the day before and lifted my legs the day before that, it was pretty easy.

We still had to wait for Golf’s brother to finish the 60 kilometer set, so I went wandering and discovered that the race fee included all-you-can-eat Thai food. Nothing like a little flaming chili soup to recover a tired body, right? I ate about half a gallon of the lava and then fell asleep under a tree.

Golf woke me up and we drove to his home in Ang Tong where I met his family. We went swimming in the Chao Phraya River, ate an incredible dinner, and then drove back to Bangkok. Here’s a shot from his front porch:

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Da said, on Thursday, December 24, 2009 at 5:53 pm

    We’ll ride in the Cow Creek Classic (http://www.cowcreekcountryclassic.org) this summer. I rode 36 miles last year. I think I can do 46 this next year if I get in shape.

    I love the way you write, even if you can’t ride. And thanks for not blaming me for your first bike ride. However, for anyone who read this besides Matt, I am the one to blame for his bike-phobia.

    • matt said, on Sunday, December 27, 2009 at 1:07 am

      My goal for this Cow race? To cause you to veer off into a wall and wrack yourself beyond all reason. Then we’ll be even!

  2. Angel said, on Saturday, December 26, 2009 at 10:33 pm

    haha! I laughed when I saw this…and can also sympathize…I, at the age of 22, can still not ride a bike…:)

    • matt said, on Sunday, December 27, 2009 at 1:06 am

      That’s tragic Angel. We’ll have to fix that the next time we’re together, if ever. (Kidding!)

  3. jkwakefield said, on Monday, December 28, 2009 at 11:46 am

    Hahaha! I laughed out loud at Golf’s invitation and your sarcasm…


Leave a Reply

