"Thanks and thanks again to Him who offers to the man whom the sorrows of life have assaulted and left naked–offers to him the fig leaf of the Word with which he can cover his wretchedness." -Søren Kierkegaard

Updates and Such

Posted in Day-To-Day by matt on Monday, December 21, 2009

Hey all. So here’s a quick list of what’s been going on with us over the past month or so.

  • Cayla and her coworkers recently had their last performance of Cinderella. The show was really fun and I enjoyed being the proud husband with the camera. You can see clips of it here. Also of note, her boss took all the cast and their families out to a really nice dinner at some ritzy buffet downtown. Our jaws dropped when we saw the spread, and I couldn’t pull my eyes away from all the cheese and dried fruit. Dinners like this are one reason I currently weight 201 pounds – heaviest I’ve ever been!
  • I’m coordinating a Christmas show at work. My Thai coworker proudly told me, “We want to show the kids what all the farang (white people) do on Christmas day.” I responded with, “They eat, stay in their pajamas, and avoid going out in public!” She didn’t understand, so here I am…cutting out paper snowflakes. It should be fun though.
  • Cayla improvised and made our first Christmas tree. I’ve posted a picture of it in my Flickr stream below.
  • I went with a friend on a crazy biking trip around central Thailand. If you know me, you know I really don’t like bikes. I’ll post more about that soon.
  • Cayla’s putting together a Christmas party for expats who couldn’t go home for the holidays. There’s going to be some serious food involved, and we’ve even set up a friend of a friend’s huge flat as the venue. They. Have. A. Grill! I’m really excited!
  • Our first anniversary is only 8 days away! Last weekend we booked a flight to Chiang Mai for a few days to get away and celebrate. We’ve been up North a few times, but we’re really excited to finally explore the Northern capital. I’ve only passed through, and Cayla was sick when she went. More on that to come.

We miss you guys – especially this time of year. Thanks for staying in touch despite our absence. Lately we’ve been having even more internet problems than usual, but we’ll try our best to stay in touch. Cheers!

Tagged with:

Leave a Reply

