"Thanks and thanks again to Him who offers to the man whom the sorrows of life have assaulted and left naked–offers to him the fig leaf of the Word with which he can cover his wretchedness." -Søren Kierkegaard

5 Sites I Stick To

Posted in Day-To-Day, Stuff I'm Reading by matt on Saturday, December 5, 2009

My work has become manageable to a fault, and I’m often bored with all the free time. The best remedy to this boredom is keeping a diverse RSS feed to read every day – especially since most of my friends and family members rarely update their blogs. (…not that I’m bitter or anything)

There are countless lovely faucets of information to keep me occupied, but sifting through all the internet slop can thwart curiosity pretty quickly. So here are just a few sites I’ve found to be worth following so far:

1. The Preemptive Love Coalition – A fantastic NGO providing heart surgeries for the thousands of kids in Iraq suffering from congenital heart disease. Cayla and I are a bit biased with this one since we’re planning on joining them around this time next year. So check ’em out!

2. Soul Pancake – A quirky site devoted to asking ‘the hard questions’. Like all good post-moderns, they almost never take a stance on or ‘answer’ any of the questions (irritating to me), but the questions are fun to mull over, and the idiotic comments offer that cherished “laughing at, not with” kind of entertainment that’s fun for the whole family. Minus any children, or course.

3. This Is Why You’re Fat – If you browse these pictures and your mouth waters at all, you need counseling. And better eating habits. Just looking at this makes my arteries clog.

4. The Prosblogian – Nerd-alert! This is a philosophy of religion blog that melts my brain. The content’s kind of esoteric, but enough effort and Wikipediaing (present-progressive tense of the noun Wikipedia?) usually provides me with enough info to understand what they’re talking about. My daily theological bench-press.

5. Copyblogger – This one’s been recently added to my list. They provide “copywriting tips for online marketing success.” For me, that basically means they dish out advice on how to write online in a more compelling way. This is important because a) I like writing and therefore want to improve at it, b) I plan on writing a lot for PLC (see site #1) and c) They’re just plain excellent at their craft and I enjoy reading what they produce.

So these are some of my online haunts. If you have any of your own that you’d like to share, share away. Goodness knows I’ve got time for browsing. Peace.

Tagged with:

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Michael Criner said, on Saturday, December 5, 2009 at 2:12 pm

    1. YES. BTW – they have new T-shirts that are a-w-e-s-o-m-e.
    2. I’ve yet to fully dive into this site completely, but it’s funny, insightful, and good.
    3. I am fat.
    4. never seen half of those books on the top of their sight… i’m a dum dum.
    5. after looking at this site, I feel behind the times in regard to how to run the ole’ blog. I will be going back to this place often so I can learn how to improve what I’m offering people, if I’m offering anything at all.


Leave a Reply

