"Thanks and thanks again to Him who offers to the man whom the sorrows of life have assaulted and left naked–offers to him the fig leaf of the Word with which he can cover his wretchedness." -Søren Kierkegaard

“The Language of God” In Review

Posted in Stuff I'm Reading by matt on Saturday, November 7, 2009

Language_of_god_francis_collinsBuying books in English can get pretty pricey around here, so I’m grateful to my expat peers for lending me whatever they’re finished with. The most recent borrowed read was The Language of God by Francis Collins.

In it he argues for the harmonious blending of faith and science. I thought his explanations and arguments were pretty compelling, and he wrote with a straight-forward humility that squashed my faith-oriented predispositions against the ‘scientific worldview’. I’ve always been (and still am) hesitant to enter the discussion/debate/fight over evolutionary theory and faith’s relationship w/ science since it’s such a sensitive subject that I know virtually nothing about; silence is really the only option if I don’t wanna sound like a moron. But Collins’ book, as I see it, was a healthy, balanced way of learning more about such a difficult topic. I’d definitely recommend it!

Tagged with:

Leave a Reply

