"Thanks and thanks again to Him who offers to the man whom the sorrows of life have assaulted and left naked–offers to him the fig leaf of the Word with which he can cover his wretchedness." -Søren Kierkegaard

Apology/Update/Gripes and Growing Up

Posted in Day-To-Day by matt on Friday, August 21, 2009

This is my semi-official apology to those of you I’ve neglected over the past month or two. Things really have been crazy on our end, so please be patient with us as we’re over two months in and still trying to get settled. Hopefully Skype, email, and facebook will happen soon in abundance!

Seriously, though, I’m really hoping things even out within the next week or two. They’ll either do that or take a turn for the worst. We’re praying for the former.

The reason I say things could get bad is that we’re less than a week away from having expired visas and assuming the oh-so-honorable title of ‘illegal alien’. But that’s not half as stressful as the actual attempt at getting visas has been. We’ve been dealing with my school and supervisors for almost 6 months now, and we still haven’t settled the visa stuff. Some of you may remember our frantic stress in Houston over visa stuff. Well, that’s what’s happening again. Except this time it’s happening over a period of a month and a half. I’ve made numerous trips to various Thai offices only to be told I don’t have this letter or that affidavit, and the inconsistency/insanity of Thai bureaucracy is about to send me over the edge.

It would be inappropriate for me to go into much detail about frustrations over this situation with you, so I’ll simply ask you to pray (that I don’t say or do anything foolish) for it and to forgive us for being so out of touch. We’ll be less busy soon – possibly because we had to flee to Cambodia.

Just kidding, but seriously…

Ironically, this transition back to Bangkok has been much more challenging than when we first arrived. Fresh off the plane in May of ’08, we had fewer responsibilities, most everything taken care of by our jobs, and much more personal independence.

This year is the opposite; responsibilities were waiting for us when we got off the plane as Cayla now leads the children’s ministry and I’m leading the Wednesday night church service each week (along w/ our friends, jobs, and spouse time); our jobs have taken care of a lot of the basics, but, like I mentioned – the visa stuff has been a nightmare; and then independence is mostly a thing of the past.

To put it bluntly, marriage is a joyful, stretching experience where I just can’t hide my crap. It comes out and I choose to either deal with it or to avoid it. I’m grateful for this challenge, though, and I prefer it much more than the alternative!

All-in-all, though, the time has been beneficial. Cayla and I have grown together and are slowly (emphasis on slowly) learning how to relate to/encourage each other in difficult situations.

Another recent plus is that I bought jeans for myself for the first time in…ever? I can’t actually remember voluntarily buying clothes and being happy about it, so this is quite a new thing for me. My friend Ben Viapiana does all sorts of hand-made denim in a personal little sweatshop under his bedroom. I know that may not sound legitimate, but the stuff he makes is pure art. He’s talented, and I’m definitely buying another pair from him sometime soon.

So Mom, Mamaw, Anna, and all the rest of you who have stressed over my slovenly appearance for the past 15 years can now sleep a little better, because I finally have a wife who isn’t afraid to tell me, “You look like a well-dressed bum.”

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. matt said, on Friday, August 21, 2009 at 8:25 pm

    Oh, and I forgot to mention that my mouse, camera, external hard drive, and computer all broke. The computer is at least still operable, but the other three are kaput. I figure if I’m gonna gripe and complain to you online I may as well do it properly, heh.

  2. merks said, on Wednesday, August 31, 2011 at 12:39 am

    Oh man, thanks for complaining, you do it so humourously. I just noticed the time stamp is over two years ago – I trust your visa issues worked out. I found you because I was looking for my friend’s blog who happens to be your friend’s sister. How many Viapianas make denim stuff by hand in Thailand? We live in a small world. Peace out

    • matt said, on Thursday, September 1, 2011 at 3:33 pm

      Thanks, merks! Yep, the visa situation worked out. We didn’t have to flee to Cambodia, and I’m still rockin’ the Viapiana label everywhere I go. Ben is a talented man.

      Thanks for saying ‘hi!’


Leave a Reply

