"Thanks and thanks again to Him who offers to the man whom the sorrows of life have assaulted and left naked–offers to him the fig leaf of the Word with which he can cover his wretchedness." -Søren Kierkegaard

A Day In The Life Of Cayla

Posted in Day-To-Day, Videos by matt on Saturday, August 1, 2009

The teachers at my school had seminars this past Thursday and Friday and, thanks to my inability to follow their lightning-fast Thai, I wasn’t invited. The conversation went something like this: “Mett, we have meetings in Thai. Wary fast Thai. You no need to come. Enjoy your long holeeday!”

And I surely did.

Thursday was spent enjoying a little mind-numbing videogamage, and on Friday I went with Cayla to experience “a day in the life of Cayla” (her title, not mine). She gave me the grand tour!

We rode the busses, walked constantly, were tempted to buy lots of fruit, and, the icing on the cake, I even sat in on one of her classes. Everything about her day is the opposite of mine – especially her students. Mine are poor and can’t speak much English, but hers are well off and are fluent little brats.

Below are a few pictures. Enjoy!

Tagged with:

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Beth Hall said, on Sunday, August 2, 2009 at 3:38 pm

    Love this entry… but maybe I just love the subject… but also the reporter too. Thanks for the pictures. I always love to see my sweet Cayla!

    • matt said, on Sunday, August 2, 2009 at 8:12 pm

      @Beth Hall: I know you know this, but you have an incredible daughter Mrs. Hall. For someone who claims to be bad w/ kids I was amazed at how brilliantly she connected w/ them while she taught. But, then again, we’re both pretty biased…


Leave a Reply

