"Thanks and thanks again to Him who offers to the man whom the sorrows of life have assaulted and left naked–offers to him the fig leaf of the Word with which he can cover his wretchedness." -Søren Kierkegaard

Good Quote/TED talks

Posted in Good Quotes, Questions For You by matt on Saturday, July 25, 2009

Last month some of my trendy tech friends introduced me to an annual conference called TED. TED stands for technology, entertainment and design and the talks are typically centered around those types of subjects, though, there have been some from other fields (religion, for example).

I’ve really enjoyed these talks whenever I get free time throughout my day and I enjoyed one today that I thought worth quoting. The man’s name is Clay Shirky and he did a talk called “How cellphones, Twitter and Facebook can make history.” At the end of his talk he summed everything up with this statement:

“The media landscape that we knew – as familiar as it was and as easy conceptually as it was to deal with the idea that professionals broadcast messages to amateurs – is increasingly slipping away in a world where media is global, social, ubiquitous and cheap. In a world of media where the ‘former audience’ are now increasingly full-on participants; in that world, media is less and less often about crafting a single message to be consumed by individuals, and it is more and more often a way of creating an environment for convening and supporting groups. Everything is changing.”

This sort of thing is especially interesting to me because it’s exactly the sort of thing I studied in some of my communication classes. It makes me wonder, though, what’s going to happen? That question may sound silly, but I really wonder sometimes: how different will technological mediums be in 2 or 3 decades when they’re already changing insanely fast as it is?

One of the staff at my church put it this way, “What if, one day, instead of saying ‘I don’t know’ when asked a question everyone just always said, ‘Hold on and I’ll check.'”

Tagged with: ,

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Angel said, on Sunday, July 26, 2009 at 2:54 pm

    Hey!! Been thinking about you guys the past couple of days. You will get to see my friends SO SOON! Wish I could see you too…

    Angel

  2. matt said, on Sunday, July 26, 2009 at 6:56 pm

    I wish you were coming Angel. It’d be great to show you around my city. How many people are coming, exactly?

  3. Criner said, on Sunday, July 26, 2009 at 10:57 pm

    Well… the wiki generation really doesn’t know anything because they don’t have to. In fact, a girl tonight at church said “I didn’t know where in the Bible to look for ‘intimate relationship with Jesus’ so I googled it.” This changes everything… I don’t have to do the labor of research, somebody else already has.

  4. matt said, on Monday, July 27, 2009 at 7:22 pm

    @Criner: Ya, but what makes me nervous is who’s opinion are they buying into? When everyone has an online say doesn’t that lead to a LOT more ignorance being traded around? I can’t help but wonder if this availability of information is going to lead to even more people mistrusting absolute truth.


Leave a Reply

