"Thanks and thanks again to Him who offers to the man whom the sorrows of life have assaulted and left naked–offers to him the fig leaf of the Word with which he can cover his wretchedness." -Søren Kierkegaard

New Theme

Posted in Day-To-Day by matt on Monday, July 20, 2009

Over the past year various people have told me that my blog’s theme is a bit hard to read. Recently, though, some friends reported that it not only strains the eyes but it’s also a bit cluttered.

So here’s my response to clutter and tired eyes: simplicity. Aren’t I creative?

The best thing about this new theme is that it’s free, it’s simple, and I don’t know anyone else who uses it. I cleared up some space by tossing out the tag cloud and all the links to other sites. I may bring them back, but for now I’m enjoying the clean look.

But what do you think? Come, friends, let’s keep democracy alive in some small way today by voting on it!

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Beth said, on Monday, July 20, 2009 at 10:42 pm

    I love your blogs no matter what they look like

  2. matt said, on Monday, July 20, 2009 at 10:46 pm

    Thanks Mrs. Hall! I should have made that an option on the poll, haha.

  3. Michael Criner said, on Tuesday, July 21, 2009 at 9:40 am

    made by the same guy that I use. I like it. simple is better.

  4. chrisandbecky said, on Tuesday, July 21, 2009 at 2:10 pm

    I like it as well. The only thing that I dislike is that it will be harder to read your old blogs on whatever subject interests me at the time of my ‘visit’. But it looks good. clean.

  5. matt said, on Tuesday, July 21, 2009 at 8:32 pm

    Thanks for the feedback guys.

    @chrisandbecky: I put the search bar and category option back up. Maybe that’ll help a little? I mean, I could put the tag cloud back up but I have record of very few people using it.

  6. chrisandbecky said, on Wednesday, July 22, 2009 at 8:01 am

    perfect.

  7. tim said, on Wednesday, July 22, 2009 at 12:54 pm

    i know i already gave my two cents, and i’ll read whatever…but i think it’s actually harder to read. everything seems so big (except for the fig leaf explanation) and the same color, making me feel like i’m just swimming in a lot of black and white text.

    sorry for having a dissenting opinion. love ya bro, and love the blog. :-)

  8. grunto09 said, on Wednesday, July 22, 2009 at 2:05 pm

    Hurts my eyes a little (being bigger print and black/white) but if you like it go for it!

  9. matt said, on Wednesday, July 22, 2009 at 7:05 pm

    @tim & grunto09: I appreciate the response guys. If I weren’t open to negative responses, I shouldn’t be blogging right? I can see what you mean about the contrasting black and white, though. Stare at it too long and it’ll imprint on your retina =)

    Blog themes aren’t actually a big deal to me since I RSS feed everything to my desktop and read it all in email format, so this is more of an experiment for people who actually visit this site. That said, if more people keep saying they prefer a little color I may switch to something else later.

    For now, though, I’m tired of tinkering. I’ve learned a lot more about the technical aspects of blogs through this though. I even read an ebook on the subject CSS coding. How’s that for nerd points?

  10. grunto09 said, on Wednesday, July 22, 2009 at 10:16 pm

    Its whatever… your still hella cool.


Leave a Reply

