"Thanks and thanks again to Him who offers to the man whom the sorrows of life have assaulted and left naked–offers to him the fig leaf of the Word with which he can cover his wretchedness." -Søren Kierkegaard

Good Quote

Posted in Good Quotes by matt on Friday, July 17, 2009

I’ve had some friends and family ask me why I like Bangkok. Well, after having coffee with a buddy today I think I’ve got your answer.

He worded it this way:

New York is a pretty girl. Paris is a hot girl. Rome is pretty good lookin’ girl, too. Bangkok’s is an ugly girl, but she’s that not-so-good-looking girl with an awesome personality.

I’d say he’s spot-on. Bangkok’s dirty, polluted, overpopulated, and smells like poo, but it’s got so much personality and charm – I love it.

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Lori said, on Friday, July 17, 2009 at 8:37 am

    I can see that. I would say Texas is kinda that
    way too.

  2. tim said, on Sunday, July 19, 2009 at 11:42 pm

    what kind of girl are you?

  3. matt said, on Monday, July 20, 2009 at 12:15 am

    @Lori: I dunno, I think Texas is a LOT more beautiful than Bangkok. But I get what you mean. It does have a lot of charm.

    @tim: Easy on the metaphors buddy.

  4. Dottie said, on Wednesday, July 22, 2009 at 3:08 pm

    I agree Matt, of the cities we visited in SE Asia, Bangkok was and is my favorite place!

  5. matt said, on Wednesday, July 22, 2009 at 7:12 pm

    @Dottie: But don’t think that means I didn’t love Singapore! The only city on earth where you can eat meals on the sidewalk and call it sanitary.

    • Dottie said, on Thursday, July 23, 2009 at 12:51 am

      oh yes, eating on street is clean lah!

  6. Scott/Da said, on Saturday, July 25, 2009 at 3:22 pm

    I am ready for a new blog! Write something and I will read it.


Leave a Reply

