"Thanks and thanks again to Him who offers to the man whom the sorrows of life have assaulted and left naked–offers to him the fig leaf of the Word with which he can cover his wretchedness." -Søren Kierkegaard

Flu-Ninja!

Posted in Day-To-Day by matt on Monday, July 13, 2009

You know your system is acclimated to a tropical climate when you get a cold from too much air-conditioner.

That’s right.

Cayla and I enjoyed AC at a luxurious 26 degrees Celsius while we were in Cambodia last week. That’s only 78.8 on the Fahrenheit scale, but it was too much dry for my tropic-soggy lungs. I came back to work hacking and coughing from a sore throat – more from the dryness than the ‘lower’ temperature.

The teachers kept teasing me and saying stuff like, “Met, you get pig flu two-thousand niiine!?” and then telling me to stay away. I thought it was all fun and games until they gave me this:

Diaper-face

Then they kind-of sort-of-passive-aggressively/highly recommended I wear it. All the time.

At first I thought it was cool lookin’. Like a ninja or something. But now it really just looks like a diaper strapped to my face. My cold’s almost gone, though, and I’m hoping Cayla doesn’t get anything. I’m also hoping to get a decent nights sleep tonight.

Because I’m tired of being the flu-ninja.

Tagged with:

Leave a Reply

