"Thanks and thanks again to Him who offers to the man whom the sorrows of life have assaulted and left naked–offers to him the fig leaf of the Word with which he can cover his wretchedness." -Søren Kierkegaard

Update

Posted in Day-To-Day, Travel by matt on Wednesday, July 1, 2009

Hello!

Since Cay hasn’t had time to blog lately and since I’m trying to get better about providing the day-to-day facts of life, I thought I’d give you a brief update –  old-school bullet style!

  • We’re 100% into the rainy season here in SE Asia. Entire lakes fall from the sky and sometimes I wonder why I even bother carrying an umbrella around with me. One time the rain was so dense and heavy that my umbrella imploded. It’s a weird feeling. You’re practically submerged in falling water while still standing. Perhaps a more accurate description of this sort of thing is “city-wide waterfall” rather than rain.
  • I have a 5 day weekend coming up, so Cayla’s taken some time off and we’re spending America’s birthday in Cambodia – two starkly different countries. Pictures and thoughts on that trip to come.
  • Also, Cayla’s spent a few evenings tutoring kids after school this week. She paints, plays games, and tries to teach English to the children via different creative means. I love the way she’s able to use creativity in teaching because those two seem to be mutually exclusive in today’s educational system. That’s right, I’ve become one of ‘those’ teachers who rant about the unforgiving curricula and the stifling of creativity, but I can also admit that my school allows me quite a bit of freedom to be creative with my lesson plans.
  • The other foreign English teacher (a Welshman) is quitting in a week and that makes me the only white person in this school. I usually enjoy it, but it can get a little lonely here at times. I’m paid to speak English, so they discourage excessive Thai (it’s forbidden with the students, obviously).  And that makes it hard to make friends with other teachers considering I can speak more Thai than most of them can speak English.
  • In the news we keep hearing about all these famous people kicking the bucket, ‘elections’ in Iran, bombs in Iraq, and the general mess of things. We pray for our friends in Iraq and our friends and family back home a lot, but it’s hard to stay globally minded when our little world here in Bangkok is getting busier and busier. Hopefully the time in Cambodia will reset things to a slower pace.
  • I’ve posted some pictures of where I work. Check it out if you want an idea of what things look like in my 2nd home. If you’re reading this on Facebook it’s because I’ve linked my blog posts to my Facebook profile, so if you wanna look at the pictures go to http://www.afigleaf.wordpress.com.

Thanks for reading guys. Love you all

Tagged with:

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Beth said, on Thursday, July 2, 2009 at 3:18 pm

    Thanks for the update. If it weren’t for others, I wouldn’t know what was happening with my kids. Have fun in Cambodia! Luv u both


Leave a Reply

