"Thanks and thanks again to Him who offers to the man whom the sorrows of life have assaulted and left naked–offers to him the fig leaf of the Word with which he can cover his wretchedness." -Søren Kierkegaard

Gym Membership

Posted in Day-To-Day by matt on Sunday, June 14, 2009

I bought a gym membership.

I’m not sure what came over me, really, because I’ve spent most of my life viewing exercise as just another form of corporal punishment. Like being flogged or something. Except you’re doing it willingly, so that’s masochism, right?

Anyway now I know that perspective’s dumb, and I have a wife to remind me of its dumbness on a regular basis.

I use to tease Jon about how working out is just another way for guys to nurse their enormous egos, get girls, try to look cool, etc. But I only said that because I didn’t wanna work out.

And – as an aside – it’s kind of amazing how often I do stuff like this. I did the exact same thing with blogging. I teased some of my college buds about how sappy their blogging was, but now here I am… yet again eating my words. It’s true, though, there seems to be a lot of insecurity at gyms like this, but that’s no excuse.

I know this is a pretty unpopular belief in a lot of Christian circles, but the way we take care of our bodies (or lack thereof) matters to God. We much prefer to think that the outside is all that matters and as long as you’re not obscenely obese you’re pretty much ok, but I think a pursuit of all-around wellness matters a lot to God. You could argue that Daniel and his bros wouldn’t eat the king’s food for ceremonial reasons (which is definitely true), but I think it was a health-issue, too. And there are other examples.

Anyway, this gym is called California Wow and it’s … interesting. You can tell there’s a lot of superficiality to it when there are all these awkward English words plastered all over the walls like, “sexier!”, “ripped!”, “more power!” (Tim Taylor, anyone?), and “six pack!”, just to name a few. But a bunch of guys at Newsong go there, and it’s a great way for Cayla and I to stay active together. Not to mention the gym’s only a 6 or 7 minute walk from our place and even less than that from my work.

So here goes nothing! I actually need to stop typing now, though, because I just threw up the bar and a couple 25 pounders and I’ve seriously lost all feeling in my arms.

Pretty stout, huh? Beat that Jon Canterbury, beat that.

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Lori Willingham said, on Sunday, June 14, 2009 at 4:16 pm

    I am proud of you for not being set in your ways
    at 23 and you are doing new things to better your-self.

  2. chrisandbecky said, on Tuesday, June 16, 2009 at 2:43 pm

    this makes me smile.

  3. matt said, on Tuesday, June 16, 2009 at 7:52 pm

    Ya, well it basically just makes me sore.

  4. Dad said, on Saturday, June 20, 2009 at 11:38 pm

    I am riding my road bike. I road 6.5 miles yesterday. It felt great. I wish you could ride with me. someday?

  5. jkwakefield said, on Monday, June 22, 2009 at 3:24 pm

    I just ran 26.2 miles

  6. matt said, on Monday, June 22, 2009 at 8:01 pm

    Showoff.

  7. grunto09 said, on Thursday, July 2, 2009 at 10:19 am

    When you get back your doing a century with me…


Leave a Reply

