"Thanks and thanks again to Him who offers to the man whom the sorrows of life have assaulted and left naked–offers to him the fig leaf of the Word with which he can cover his wretchedness." -Søren Kierkegaard

Mutemath Video: Spotlight

Posted in Music by matt on Sunday, May 31, 2009

Sooooo the art of the music video is lost on me. I’m pretty sure I’ve watched a few, but each time I do my brain just shuts down and loses interest. I swear it’s involuntary. I either walk off and do something else or I just stare mindlessly until it’s over and the only thing left is an empty hole that sucked 4 minutes of my life away. There we go. That’s the best description I can give. Music videos are the little black holes of the entertainment industry. Thus the reason I can’t remember any.

But the video below is quite different. Not only have I watched it too many times, but I’m actually recommending that others watch it. And now, as though that isn’t already silly, I’m posting it for you. Not to mention it was my Dad who introduced the song and video to me. He and my brother keep me up-to-speed these days with entertainment stuff.

I particularly enjoyed the fact that the entire video is one continuous shot that they sped up and slowed down. The brilliance is in the simplicity, and it doesn’t hurt that the song’s really catchy.

So here ya go. And, as Criner likes to say, enjoy.

Tagged with: ,

Leave a Reply

