"Thanks and thanks again to Him who offers to the man whom the sorrows of life have assaulted and left naked–offers to him the fig leaf of the Word with which he can cover his wretchedness." -Søren Kierkegaard

Visas + Plane Ride = Home

Posted in Day-To-Day, Travel by matt on Wednesday, May 27, 2009

Cayla and I have experienced the stress of acquiring work visas for about two months now which, for the record, has been a much more tedious endeavor than I expected. We waited months for our supervisor to send the letter only to find out that it was insufficient, but our beloved Professor Mueller has worked her magic and we’re now packing for the flight home.

I’m just happy that it’s finally finished!

Cayla has a couple job leads but nothing permanent yet, so feel free to pray over that. We plan to use this year for two things: Firstly, to grow closer as husband and wife, and, second, to figure out what we’re supposed to do for the next few years. We’ve enjoyed teaching English, but that’s not really the field we’d like to stay in long-term. There are a few different options for us after the upcoming school year finishes, but we’ll just have to wait and see what happens.

In the mean time I’m just enjoying all the free time to travel with my bride and read as much as possible. I don’t know what’s come over me, but I’ve almost read two-dozen books since the beginning of this year. It’s like I’m starved for story; I can’t get enough fiction. I think at some point within the next few years I’d like to take some more class.

And to all of the friends and family that Cayla and I spent time with – thanks! We loved seeing you. In most cases the time was too short, I know, but I’m still glad for it. I’m grateful to God for all of the people who have loved us and brought us to where we are now; your support and continued friendship is a huge blessing. Hope to see you again soon!

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. tim said, on Friday, May 29, 2009 at 11:05 am

    glad to hear yall got on your way!

    http://thepracticalromance.wordpress.com

  2. Dad said, on Tuesday, June 2, 2009 at 6:15 am

    What a wild ride with God the last year has been. Keep writing! Dad


Leave a Reply

