"Thanks and thanks again to Him who offers to the man whom the sorrows of life have assaulted and left naked–offers to him the fig leaf of the Word with which he can cover his wretchedness." -Søren Kierkegaard

I’m Content

Posted in Day-To-Day by matt on Wednesday, February 11, 2009

I think a lot of life is a never ending chase. We need something to work for and toward, even if it’s utterly trivial. Alice bumbled after her white rabbit; Ahab obsessed over his white whale. We create goals because accomplishing them offers a little fulfillment, and this process connects us with people. I don’t believe goals are a bad thing, though, and short-lived fulfillment isn’t always bad either. It just tends to become… more important than it should.

And I do this.

If I don’t have a book, a mental conundrum, a relationship, a language, a game, or some other thing to work on I don’t feel like I’m on the right track. So I resolve myself to grow and improve in some area with the purest of intentions. Then, almost without fail, I fail. My innocent, contented goals become a form of idolatry that breeds discontentment, and I can’t seem to keep God the main goal.

But contentment has been pretty easy prey over the past 6 or 7 months. I misplace things on occasion, but for the most part things are well w/ my soul, and I’m grateful to God for this. And this peace hit an all time high over the past weekend.

“The mass of men lead lives of quiet desperation,” Thoreau said.

I can’t say that I disagree with him, but this weekend felt more like a life of desperation-free, quiet relaxation. A few of us made our way down the Gulf of Thailand to a little beach called Hat Wanakorn to enjoy a long weekend of nothing but God’s backyard and the pleasure of each others company. I’ve uploaded a few pictures for you.

One of the people in our entourage hadn’t even seen the ocean before, so we had the special privilege of being with him for his first experience with the big blue. His name is Ryan, and he was giddy. Giddy Ryan is originally Chinese, but he was persecuted and exiled from his country for professing Jesus as the God of his life. Now he and his family live in Bangkok as illegal refugees, but they’re hoping and praying for relocation to the States.

So – needless to say – it’s been incredible getting to know him at church. In fact it’s been awesome getting to know all of the people at Newsong.We feel honored to be involved there, and I’m actually leading the Wednesday night Bible study. We see the leadership stuff on Wednesday nights as a great way to be involved with ministry while still working 9-5 jobs.

I guess the summary of all this is that we’re blessed, content, and experiencing the “peace on earth, good will to men” that Christ came to bring. He’s good and absolutely worthy!

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Dad said, on Sunday, February 22, 2009 at 11:23 pm

    It seems like somewhere important someone wrote “godliness with contentment is great gain” … Funny, your article is right where I am. Thanks for writing. Now I have to set a new goal: I will try to not be so proud of Matt! j/k

  2. matt said, on Monday, February 23, 2009 at 1:51 am

    Haha. Thanks Da. I love you! (and I will see you oh so soon!)


Leave a Reply

