"Thanks and thanks again to Him who offers to the man whom the sorrows of life have assaulted and left naked–offers to him the fig leaf of the Word with which he can cover his wretchedness." -Søren Kierkegaard

A Tribute to Bro-manticism

Posted in Day-To-Day, Friends by matt on Friday, January 23, 2009

I have an incredible set of guys in my life. A potentially strange way to start a post, I know, but I need to point out one of God’s many graces on my life: godly men.

My Da, for starters, is the biggest male influence on my life; having godly virtue in step with passion, and a “jack-of-all-trades, master-of-none” who meets needs at his own expense like it’s going out of style. The older I get, the more I’m humbled by his life. I continue to aspire.

Gruntish or, as you may know him, Grant. This “tall drink o’ water” apparently became a man when no one was looking. Or maybe it was just me that missed it… Either way, he’s incredible. If I weren’t a dude and his blood relative I’d send him love notes, but I’m happy to say that I’m both of these things. His strong sense of right and wrong and compassion for others outweighs the fact that he’s obnoxiously taller than me now, so I forgive him.

The 3, as I used to call them. It’s cheesy, but they’re so important to me that I decided they deserved a title with an article at the beginning. It makes things seem more important, don’t you think? (or was that snobby?) The Woodlands, for example.

Anyway Ben, Taylor, and Jon were an amazing little league of collegiate gentlemen. I learned so much about pursuing godliness rather than being a “neat Christian boy” from them. As Ben recently referred to us,

“guys who love each other platonically and challenge each other spiritually and dork around consistently. I have to believe Christ is glorified in these things.”

Like I said, I could write a lot more about these three and about all the other Baylor guys like Goose, JK, Ian, Criner, Ben J., Bonem, and Greg, but there just isn’t room. In short, God blessed me a lot in college.

And now. As the story often goes, God has superseded expectations by dumping dudes into my lap. Travis, Jon, Mike, Kilang, Dwight, Tosh, Ryan, Josh, and a few others meet semi-weekly for a bro-mantic mandate. And the sweet thing is that it goes a lot deeper than just “hang out, eat, laugh, and burn stuff”. We discuss stuff, read Hebrews, and pray together pretty regularly. The fact that God provided this in Bangkok, Thailand is pretty amazing considering Christians make up less than 1% of the population.

My honest desire for myself is that I would pursue guys recklessly for the sake of the Kingdom. I’m married now, so extensive friendship with girls is neither wise nor worth my time, but there are so many guys who are too insecure to get real. Emotional and spiritual constipation is rampant in Texas. Anyone from the South, for that matter, can surely vouch for me. But I’m convinced that  intentionality and Christ’s love – when coupled – are extremely beneficial in helping this issue. Please pray for me as I continue learning how to do this better.

Leave a Reply

