"Thanks and thanks again to Him who offers to the man whom the sorrows of life have assaulted and left naked–offers to him the fig leaf of the Word with which he can cover his wretchedness." -Søren Kierkegaard

Update

Posted in Day-To-Day by matt on Thursday, January 15, 2009

Whelp, only a couple weeks since I last last saw you and things are just about back to normal (apart from the whole being married thing…ya…that’s not too normal). Cayla and I are successfully transitioning into our new way of living. We use her old room as the storage/kitchen area while my room is our actual bedroom. She even decided to switch to my bathroom since it’s cleaner than hers! (but don’t tell her I told you so).

We have also found places for most of our things in the various crevices of our tiny home, but I’m often surprised by how much being married can complicate things that were previously quite simple. Like where do I put all my books? Apparently leaving them in a literary gaggle on top of the end table isn’t quite ideal, so she decided to share her bookshelf with me! I’m quite honored, haha. Speaking of which, Cayla bought me a second edition copy of Victor Hugo’s Les Miserables as a wedding present. If you know me, that’s just about the best gift I could get! The pages are soured and ancient, but the spine’s totally intact and the book smells glorious! We’re reading it together now with hopes of finishing it before seeing the actual show in London this March.

Work’s also working out. I’m not particularly in love with the idea of teaching forever, but I’m enjoying it for now. Cayla and I look forward to summer break; I understand my mom’s anticipation for school letting out like I never did before! Thank God for loooong holidays.

Finally, I’d like to take yet another minute to thank everyone who supported Cay and I when we got hitched. Whether you prayed, attended the ceremony, sent a gift, or just threw out an encouraging word on facebook, I want to say thank you. I’m amazed at how loved we are despite moving across the planet. For some reason I was expecting more of a shunning, but you guys continue to humble me with kindness. I love you all, so thanks very much.

Tagged with:

Leave a Reply

