"Thanks and thanks again to Him who offers to the man whom the sorrows of life have assaulted and left naked–offers to him the fig leaf of the Word with which he can cover his wretchedness." -Søren Kierkegaard

Married

Posted in Day-To-Day by matt on Thursday, January 8, 2009

I am married. The boy who whailed and cried to his parents about not wanting to ever grow up and leave Neverland is officially a husband, and the sweet irony is that just two years ago I was sitting across a table from my future wife telling her that marriage was a waste of time and energy. I told her I’d rather just stay single so I could “do more” for God. Brilliant.

As usual, I’ve eaten my words!

Thank you all for coming, praying, giving gifts, and supporting us through our engagement and wedding. Cayla and I are so blessed to have such an awesome network of friends and family  supporting us around the world. Thank you, thank you, thank you! But now it’s back to work and life here in Bangkok. I’ll post pictures of the wedding soon!

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Angela Snyder said, on Friday, January 9, 2009 at 11:24 pm

    Matt:

    Congrats to you and Cayla! I’m super excited for you both! What an adventure you’re both on this year in Thailand. I pray God blesses you both!
    Have a wonderful weekend!

    Angela Snyder

  2. Jerry Gray said, on Tuesday, January 13, 2009 at 8:17 pm

    All the happiness to you and Cayla. Happiness is important so don’t ever let it go.

  3. matt said, on Tuesday, January 20, 2009 at 11:48 am

    Thanks to you both!

    Re Jerry: I actually read a short story by Leo Tolstoy called “Family Happiness” that I think you might find interesting. Your advice reminded me of it. Check it out and let me know what you think.


Leave a Reply

