"Thanks and thanks again to Him who offers to the man whom the sorrows of life have assaulted and left naked–offers to him the fig leaf of the Word with which he can cover his wretchedness." -Søren Kierkegaard

“10 Shekels and a Shirt”

Posted in Theological by matt on Thursday, November 20, 2008

I know I’m letting my preacher-kid roots show a little here, but I’ve decided to post one of my favorite sermons for you guys (Da has a few that blow this one outta the water, but I’ll let you hear them later). This is probably the most influential thing (people aren’t included in the ‘thing’ category, mind you) from my time at Baylor. I remember one time in Penland Hall – a Friday night, I think – when the fellas and I were huddled around Jon’s computer listening to this sermon as it kicked us square in the teeth (repeatedly). Yup…we were so awesome back then that we had to listen to sermons on Friday nights just to give other people a chance to catch up in cool points…ya…

It’s 51 minutes and 15 seconds, so allot yourself some time if you intend to listen. I usually try to avoid being ‘that guy’ who recommends lotsa stuff to others, but this sermon is just goodstuff. I already made my smallgroup listen to it a couple years ago and I think they enjoyed it (?), so hopefully it’s beneficial for you, too. I’ve provided a couple different links, so hopefully one of the two will work, though I make no promises w/ my technical savvylessness. Just click ‘open’ and it should upload and play for you. And gimme some feedback if you decide to listen!

Ten Shekels and a Shirt

http://www.sermonindex.net/modules/mydownloads/visit.php?lid=282

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Melissa Stephens said, on Wednesday, November 26, 2008 at 4:04 pm

    Hey matt! I changed my blog address, so please make note of the new one. Happy Thanksgiving to you!

    Mel


Leave a Reply

