"Thanks and thanks again to Him who offers to the man whom the sorrows of life have assaulted and left naked–offers to him the fig leaf of the Word with which he can cover his wretchedness." -Søren Kierkegaard

Lingustic Barriers Galore

Posted in Day-To-Day by matt on Wednesday, November 19, 2008

สวัสดี ← That means “Hello” in Thai!

And yes…yes I did just start a post like that. Shudup.

It has recently come to my attention that I am unable to read Thai. How, you ask? I actually recognized this problem w/ relative ease; when I look at the jillions of signs around Bangkok I haven’t the slightest clue as to their meaning. And I’m serious when I say it’s beyond Greek to me – this is a serious linguistic mess, and sometimes I’m totally missing out on culture.

Take this sign for example…      ?!?

This could mean any number of atrocities await me in this bathroom (assuming it’s a bathroom), but I’ll never know because I can only speak a little and read none.
So! I’ve decided to learn how to read this craziness. A couple of the Thai teachers I work w/ gave me a 1st grade handwriting book and they even read each of the eleventy billion (44) consonants aloud to me in a high pitched, sweet little teacher voice. If they’d have been wearing a purple dinosaur costume the scene would have been complete. I felt like a 1st grader using a wobbly hand to write his cursive letters again, and I fully intend to color all the pictures when I finish my homework.
I’ll update you as to my progress, shoot, I may even write you a little post in Thai sometime if I get 5 or 6 hours of free time at work… Oh, and the word in the picture above says “toilet” and the puffy magic cloud is human excrement. Kinda messy, huh? I swear it’s all the peppers…
Tagged with:

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Rozan said, on Friday, December 12, 2008 at 8:36 pm

    Matt, I laughed at this one a lot – in particular your comment about beyond Greek – reminded me of when John and I were in Greece last year and people would talk and someone said it’s Greek to me – of course we cracked up because ya it was Greek! Probably isn’t funny unless you were there.

    John and I are very happy for you and Cayla and your wedding this month. We pray for God’s blessings on your marriage and that His perfect plan for your lives will unfold as you follow Him step by step by step trusting Him all the way day by day. Peace of God! Rozan

  2. matt said, on Sunday, December 14, 2008 at 10:01 am

    Good to hear from you Mrs. Franklin! Thanks so much for your prayers and encouragements!


Leave a Reply

