"Thanks and thanks again to Him who offers to the man whom the sorrows of life have assaulted and left naked–offers to him the fig leaf of the Word with which he can cover his wretchedness." -Søren Kierkegaard

Good Quote

Posted in Good Quotes, Stuff I'm Reading by matt on Sunday, November 16, 2008

The book I’m currently reading is an allegory called The Shack. It’s hard to describe, but my best shot is that it’s like a modern day, more philosophically-driven version of Pilgrim’s Progress. In the quote below God is “talking” (remember, it’s an uninspired, allegorical story) about man-made systems. If you know me you know my issues w/ systems…apparently this author shares my sentiments.

…I don’t create institutions; that’s an occupation for those who want to play God. So no, I’m not too big on religion…and I’m not very fond of politics or economics either. And why should I be? They are the man-created trinity of terrors that ravages the earth and deceives those I care about.

Put simply, these terrors are tools that many use to prop up their illusions of security and control. People are afraid of uncertainty, afraid of the future. These institutions, these structures and ideologies, are all a vain effort to create some sense of certainty and security where there isn’t any. It’s all false! Systems cannot provide you security, only I can.

What a statement! That Jesus – freedom incarnate – frees us from the illusion that freedom is the ability to do what you want; freedom is knowing Him and doing what He wants! May God free us to His own purposes and away from the illusion of security found in patriotism and religious activity.

Booyakasha.

Tagged with: ,

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. chrisandbecky said, on Sunday, November 16, 2008 at 8:33 am

    Matt,

    What is your overall view of The Shack? I have heard from people who want to burn it and people who think its the new Bible, obviously both are wrong. What do you think of it? I am tempted to read it myself.

    -Boggus

  2. matt said, on Sunday, November 16, 2008 at 10:05 am

    Hmmm. Well, if we’re judging by the effect the book has had on me I’d say it’s great. It’s done nothing but make me wanna know God more intimately.

    But I’m guessing you’re asking about the author’s method. I’d say it all hinges on how you choose to read it. Theology aside (I’ll get to that later), he’s written an allegory in an age of allegorylessness. People don’t understand it. It’s not literal like we’re used to.

    So you can either see it as heretical for someone to put words into the mouth of God (makes me uncomfortable at times), or you can see it as symbolism – which is the intention, I believe.

    As for theology, I don’t have too many concerns. I wish he’d emphasize certain aspects of God a little more (sovereignty, for one), but I haven’t found anything deplorable.

    But anytime you hear about a book that’s hated and loved in extremes like this you should definitely pick it up. It’s an easy read and it’ll make ya think, and hopefully love God =)

  3. tim said, on Sunday, November 16, 2008 at 9:17 pm

    i like it.
    the entry, that is…haven’t read the book!

  4. Rozan said, on Saturday, December 20, 2008 at 10:25 pm

    Matt, some how missed this one when reading your entries – absolutely agree this is a modern day Pilgrims Progress……….like you it makes intimacy with God more desired – relational prayer is real life conversations with God – isn’t it amazinkg He loves us so much!!!


Leave a Reply

