"Thanks and thanks again to Him who offers to the man whom the sorrows of life have assaulted and left naked–offers to him the fig leaf of the Word with which he can cover his wretchedness." -Søren Kierkegaard

All That Pivotal Stuff

Posted in Day-To-Day by matt on Thursday, November 13, 2008

I’m pleased to tell you that central Thailand is experiencing its one week of “winter”. Since I arrived the weather’s hit an all-time low of 76 degrees Fahrenheit. The Thai children are wearing sweaters and scarves this week when all I wanna do is strip down and jump in the pool! They’re almost half as scared of a cool breeze as the Turks were, hehe. Seriously, though, if only winter were longer than a week or two…this weather is glorious.

In other news, Cayla and I are trying to decide what we wanna do with our next year here in Bangkok. I suppose that’s an official confirmation for everyone we hadn’t told – we will be staying in Bangkok another year. Our hope is to spend a solid year here building our baby marriage and asking God about the future. He’s graciously allowed this dingy, rundown metropolis to become a place I can call “home” (whatever that word means, right?). I know some of you are wondering when I’m gonna get homesick and just come home. Well, that’s not likely to happen anytime soon so just pack up and come visit me instead (hint hint). =)

That settled, the new issues become housing and work. We have some great options and some preferences, but please pray for us as we try to make the best decision in this process. I tend to be too nonchalant w/ things like this and I don’t wanna do that – especially since I’ll be caring for someone other than just myself. We even have a meeting soon w/ one of the ladies who’s interested in employing us. This gig would basically take care of all our expenses (housing, food, etc.) and would be a good paycheck. It would also allow Cayla to do something she actually wants to do, assuming she can decide what that something is, haha.

Anyway, I love you guys. Can’t wait to see you in December!!!

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Melissa said, on Thursday, November 13, 2008 at 7:12 pm

    Matt:

    We received your postcard today in the mail. How very cool!! I’m going to hang it in my office at work. So, you are getting married in December? WOW…man, I wished I could be there to you all tie the knot. When’s the big day?
    Oh, I changed my blog. I sent you an email to join it. I made it private. So, look for that email.
    We love you alot Matt, and we are praying for you all.

    Love ya,
    Mel


Leave a Reply

