"Thanks and thanks again to Him who offers to the man whom the sorrows of life have assaulted and left naked–offers to him the fig leaf of the Word with which he can cover his wretchedness." -Søren Kierkegaard

Newsong Retreat

Posted in Day-To-Day by matt on Tuesday, November 11, 2008

I just realized that I haven’t informed you of my current ‘church situation’. I know I’ve told a few folks over Skype, but I really haven’t sent much info en mass yet. So here goes: Cayla and I recently began attending a church called Newsong Bangkok and we’re loving it. Now, I’m hesitant to describe my excitement over this church to you because I know many of my readers are church folk, and I also know how we life-long Christians often hear praise for another church and immediately make comparisons. Please recognize that excessive concern w/ personal religious standing or your church’s standing relative to others is ridiculous. Falsely formed religious standards are directly contrary to the Gospel of Grace, they are a new version of the law, and they only serve to give us a personal sense of accomplishment relative to “that other guy” when the reality is that you’re no different from him or her. So please don’t do that, it’s sin.

Wow, I can’t believe how short I kept that rant – definitely a record!

So like I was saying, this new church is unlike anything I’ve ever been a part of. The people are so obnoxiously loving and friendly that I sometimes show up late on purpose just because there are days when I can’t handle all the hugs and cheerful introductions. This church is one of the big reasons Cay and I want to stay in BKK for another year.

This last weekend was Newsong’s annual retreat. We stayed at a hotel in Samut Songkram which is just a short drive north of Bangkok. I’ll try to get some pics (and hopefully a video) posted soon, but we basically hung out and had a good time. Bangkok is big and impersonal, so opportunities like this are pure gold. There was a speaker, good music, lots of Thai food, baptism, a no talent show (so funny), and some other stuff. I actually even managed to catch up on sleep rather than fall behind! The whole experience was really refreshing and I can’t remember ever laughing as hard as I did when Travis did his dance explosion (you melted my face buddy).

So yea. Love you guys. Pics to follow, and praise Christ for His church and the work He’s doing in Thailand!

Tagged with:

Leave a Reply

