"Thanks and thanks again to Him who offers to the man whom the sorrows of life have assaulted and left naked–offers to him the fig leaf of the Word with which he can cover his wretchedness." -Søren Kierkegaard

Clearly, I’d never been to Singapore…

Posted in Travel by matt on Monday, October 27, 2008

A few days into the Hall family’s visit we hopped down to Singapore for a 3 day stint. They have a family friend who was an extremely gracious hostess. She did it all: let us crash in her 5 bedroom condo, drove us around, dished out some cash, and told us what she knew about the tourist hot spots in Singapore.

I was surprised at the stark contrast between the two cities; Bangkok is something of a Rambo, while Singapore is more of a James Bond. BKK has that ‘rough-around-the-edges’ feel, Singapore is very chic and precisely structured. One is unpredictable and dangerous, the other is mind-numbingly safe. One has people shamelessly urinating on the streets, the other’s streets are swept daily and gum is illegal. Bangkok’s laws are more like… guidelines (second reference to the same movie!), while Singapore’s laws are the blood and bones of the island.

I’m sure you get the idea.

The trip was a nice getaway, though, because it felt like a mini trip to America. My lungs were so happy to finally be able to inhale freely, but there was so much air conditioning that I developed a slight cold. My body has become used to stupid amounts of humidity and it just couldn’t handle the transition to constant cold air. The food I’ve eaten has also been nice. Mr. Hall was kind enough to take us to Mexican, Indian, Singaporean, Italian (cheese!) and much more – he even paid for my airfare! I was humbled by the family’s kindness. I’ve actually eaten so much lately that I may have gained weight!

My Thai counterpart this morning said, “Matt, you look ooowan (Thai for fat)!” I responded with, “Nobody’s ever called me that before…” She explained, “No no, I mean you actually look healthy. You usually look too skinny…it’s dangerous.” I figured Mom would be glad to hear there are other Thai mom’s concerned about my weight =).

Anyway I’m back in school now and things are going pretty well. Between wedding prep, school, and all the other stuff I’m staying busy though. We had our pretests today and most of my kids passed by the skin of their loose little teeth. I just hope we can improve those grades…Anyway I’m out. Love you all!

Leave a Reply

