"Thanks and thanks again to Him who offers to the man whom the sorrows of life have assaulted and left naked–offers to him the fig leaf of the Word with which he can cover his wretchedness." -Søren Kierkegaard

An Update

Posted in Day-To-Day by matt on Tuesday, August 19, 2008

This post is for all the practical people who are sick and tired of all the other weird stuff I post: “Dangit Matt, we like pictures and stories about you! Give us more of that.” Whelp, here it is. I’m genuinely sorry I’ve neglected to let people in on the monotony, but now’s your chance. Pictures will be posted shortly.

I’ve wanted to stay balanced (really, I have). I guess most of the time I write the day-to-day stuff I feel like that depressed housewife who has nothing better to do than log every menial detail of her stranded, diaper-filled existence. I’d hate to give you that. Let’s hope I avoid it.

Work has gone well. My kids did well on their midterms and are now working toward finals. I’m really enjoying it here at Chitralada School. God has graciously taught me to love kids in a personal way, and I look forward to class with them and helping them improve their English (even if that means teaching them their colours and numbers).

I spend most of my free time either reading or hanging out with people. I’m finally to the point where I know which places I enjoy eating at, how often I’ll need to clean stuff, etc. In short, I have a routine. Each Monday I tutor a boy named Huey (Metas is his Thai name). His family is incredibly kind to me and they pay me double the amount that they’re supposed to – ridiculous. The tutoring works well, though, because Huey is a big video game nerd like me. Being able to connect on that level has helped him enjoy our hour long sessions a little more. I mean, I can destroy him at all of his video games…he better show some respect! The first week he said, “Teacher. You are very skilled! It is very difficult for me to defeat you!”

Hence, Thai children revere me. I guess all those games weren’t a complete waste of time.

Oh, and I’m compiling everyone’s information so I can more effectively stay in touch. I recently caught onto this new “postcard” phenomenon and I’ve been sending them like crazy. So, if you’d like one sent your way, hook me up with your address and I’ll get you one in the mail. They’re dirt cheap here and I like this old-fashioned pen-and-paper stuff.

I’m also really improving my Thai a lot. I mean, considering I haven’t taken formal lessons or given anyone money I’m doing pretty well. I can hold my own in a basic, cavemanish conversation and I can yell at Taxi drivers for trying to rip me off. What else is there..? So long as I keep bugging the Thai teachers with questions I think I’ll be fairly conversational by March. We’ll just have to wait and see though.

The beginning of this month also held a few meaningful markers for me: one year since Turkey, just over ten months dating Cayla (a record for me), two and a half months in Bangkok, also two and a half since graduation, and my sister’s 20th birthday (holla!). It’s weird to think of all that happening in less than a year… I feel kinda old.

Alright that’s about it. I hope that was informative and I’d love a little reciprocation. If there’s anything new with you (you know there is, don’t lie) then please feel free to share it.

ผมรักคุณ (I love you),

matt

Tagged with:

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. benjamite said, on Tuesday, August 19, 2008 at 11:15 am

    Ian and I got freaking pumped about your postcard. Shoot me your address; I want to send you one back.

    Saw the Dodgen last weekend; we spoke fondly of you and Jonny over there. I’m weighing buying a mic for my old and busted lappy so that I can join the Skype revolution and holler at you guys voice to voice. Suggestions on cheap/functional ones?

    Love you, lifting up your year and your considerations for next one.

  2. Emily E said, on Tuesday, August 19, 2008 at 6:38 pm

    HEY. I just wanted to say hi and I’m really excited that things are going so well for you…that sounds like an amazing experience that would teach you a lot and I am muy jealous. I hope I get to do something half that cool after I graduate! Praying for you and we’ll miss you this fall, even though you’re where you are supposed to be.
    Emily

  3. Melissa said, on Friday, August 22, 2008 at 1:24 am

    I would love to have a postcard from you matt and I’ll send one back to you! Do you have my address? How can I get it to you?


Leave a Reply

