"Thanks and thanks again to Him who offers to the man whom the sorrows of life have assaulted and left naked–offers to him the fig leaf of the Word with which he can cover his wretchedness." -Søren Kierkegaard

“Devils” Quote

Posted in Good Quotes, Stuff I'm Reading, Theological by matt on Saturday, July 26, 2008

From a book I recently finished…

My immortality is necessary if only because God will not want to commit an injustice and smother once and for all the flame of love for Him that’s been kindled in my heart. And what’s more precious than love? Love is higher than being, love is the crown of being; how is it possible that being should not be subbordinate to love? If I’ve come to love Him and rejoice in my love – is it possible He would extinguish me and my joy and turn us both into nothing. If there is a God, then I am immortal! There’s my profession of faith.

Stepan Trofimovich in Dostoevsky’s novel, Devils

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Kizzle said, on Wednesday, July 30, 2008 at 10:57 pm

    This quote didn’t strike me the first time I read it, but a day or two ago it popped in my mind as I was contemplating after-life. It actually helped me sort through some stuff. Frankly, I’ve been wondering whether there IS anything after all of this.

  2. matt said, on Thursday, July 31, 2008 at 4:22 am

    At least you’re ‘wondering’. I wonder how many people do even that on a semi-regular basis.

    But if it’s a sin to have doubts then I’m in BIG trouble. Not that it’s my business, but try to keep struggling. He’s worth it.

    If there’s no tension then it’s not faith.


Leave a Reply

