"Thanks and thanks again to Him who offers to the man whom the sorrows of life have assaulted and left naked–offers to him the fig leaf of the Word with which he can cover his wretchedness." -Søren Kierkegaard

Passion Defined

Posted in Day-To-Day, Good Quotes by matt on Sunday, July 13, 2008

Saturday night I heard some wacky guy named Peter give a message and he defined passion this way:

Passion is a God-given capacity to fervently attach ourselves to an object, a people, a cause, or an idea over an extended period of time to meet a need.

The crazy thing is that Cayla and I had just been talking about passion and what it means to be passionate. We had both decided that it’s more than just being ‘super emotional’ or a ‘social butterfly’; it can’t be limited to personality. Bubbly people aren’t always passionate, and some of the most passionate people I know are wall-flowers, so it has to be something else.

Then, just a few hours later, we read the above definition on one of Peter’s slides. I’m not always a fan of definitions; defining something complex usually means something important was left out, but this definition blessed me a lot. I even cornered him after the service with a borrowed pen and an old business card just to make sure I didn’t forget it.

I particularly liked how he ended his definition with meeting a need. If it’s as simple as fervently attaching ourselves…to meet a need then anyone can be passionate, and Jesus was the most passionate person who ever lived.

For myself, I hope to find that object, people, cause, or idea that I’m supposed to fervently attach myself to. Right now it’s my second graders, but what about later? I can’t just drift around aimlessly, but I don’t really know what direction to head. I need to trust and to pray (uh lot, haha). I’d really appreciate prayer over this, particularly as I approach the end of my time here in BKK.

Tagged with:

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. ben h said, on Sunday, July 13, 2008 at 10:18 am

    dude, good word. I like the way be attatched need as well. Who is this guy again, and how did ya’ll hear him? He your local pastor?

  2. matt said, on Monday, July 14, 2008 at 9:35 am

    Ben. Oh my gosh dude, you’d love this place. Picture a Bohemian-trendy kind of upper room environment. Art and obscure fliers spot the walls and a while buncha races and cultures crammed together on the 3rd floor to worship in downtown BKK.

    It’s rad.

    I particularly like it when the Thai people sing in Thai at the same time as the English-speakers. Two languages overlapping in worship makes me happy.

    Peter’s not their ‘pastor’. Don’t think they have one, actually, but he’s definitely one of the staff with them.

    Here’s their website…

    http://www.newsong.net/bangkok/index_english.php

  3. matt said, on Monday, July 14, 2008 at 9:38 am

    Actually this is the site specific to Bangkok:

    http://www.newsongbangkok.net/

  4. Justin E said, on Friday, July 25, 2008 at 7:43 am

    Agreed, good word. I’ll be pring for ya big time. I think a lot of people are working jobs they just thought they were supposed to do instead of pursuing the passion He placed in their hearts and glorifying Him in that – be it professional clown, preacher, teacher, janitor, whatever.
    I think it’s another way the enemy deceives us and we end up walking a path doing okay thinking we’re surviving when we could be thriving, passionately serving Him out of our gifts and passions. May you find that purpose that drives you for His glory! Wow, didn’t mean to get that wordy. Hope you’re doing great, man.


Leave a Reply

