"Thanks and thanks again to Him who offers to the man whom the sorrows of life have assaulted and left naked–offers to him the fig leaf of the Word with which he can cover his wretchedness." -Søren Kierkegaard

Oops

Posted in Day-To-Day by matt on Tuesday, July 8, 2008

Tuesdays are my free days. I only have one class in the morning, so I spend the rest of the day reading or bugging Thai teachers with questions about their language. It’s fun.

Well, today I was so bored that I offered to help Nummon with some of her work  (ya…I was that bored). She replied with “You be a strong boy for me,” and sent me to her classroom with a stack of books. I dropped the books off and walked back into the hall to enjoy the rain for a few minutes. Standing there, I noticed a class of 1st graders bowing prostrate. Their teacher was conducting a practice-Buddhist-prayer-position-session (the technical term).

Ya…I had to stare, and stare I did.

Well, I needed to pass the class to get back to the English office, so I stepped over a couple of the kids on my way. After crossing the practice prayer vigil I heard an eruption of gasps and muffled screams. I turned to find the kids staring at me, the teachers covering their mouths, and two of the janitors glaring at me. I did a double-take to make sure Hitler wasn’t standing behind me.

Apparently your feet shouldn’t ever go near a child’s head, but especially not when they’re praying (it was just practice!). I knew a little about this, but I didn’t know it was something that would induce hatred and a sound shunning.

Needless to say, I’m on the outs with a number of the faculty, and this is saying something considering I didn’t really fit in before.

So there’s my random story. Things have been busy lately and I haven’t felt like blogging. My camera is also out of commission so I won’t be able to post any pictures for awhile. I’ll try to get some from Cayla’s camera later. Love you all,

matt

PS. Uhhhh the new Coldplay album. Ya. A legalized form of auditory heroine (That means it’s good). Unbelievable.

Tagged with:

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. sharethewell said, on Wednesday, July 9, 2008 at 1:03 am

    Matt!!
    Ahh… stuff like this is bound to happen. Take risks and sometimes we fail, but hey – there’s forgiveness and grace and they’ll get over it, keep doing what you do, brother!

  2. jkwakefield said, on Friday, July 11, 2008 at 11:38 am

    Ha, yeah I hope they get over it! I don’t know what that culture is like when it comes to forgiveness and offending, though. I would be so embarrassed.

    I’m sure some of them know you’re an ignorant foreigner.

    Good to hear about you!


Leave a Reply

