"Thanks and thanks again to Him who offers to the man whom the sorrows of life have assaulted and left naked–offers to him the fig leaf of the Word with which he can cover his wretchedness." -Søren Kierkegaard

Summed Up in Simplicity

Posted in Day-To-Day, Friends by matt on Tuesday, June 17, 2008

During my stint in Waco I developed the habit of summarizing what I was experiencing or learning into one or two succinct words.

Toward the beginning of college my words were love and relationship. The Penland fellas and I had tons of conversations about all this (*sigh*…the good old days). As unlikely as this may seem, I was actually even more naive back then, but those were the sum-up words.

The focus eventually shifted to the word pursuit. Building on the love thing, I quickly began to see the pointlessness of talking when unaccompanied by a pursuit of relationships our of love. It’s that old school dc Talk song, “luv is a verb” (they were so gangsta…). I have Goose to thank for most of this as I observed his life, learned it from him, and processed it with him on an almost weekly basis.

So that’s a brief history of me over simplifying my own life. And, after only three weeks, I’ve already found a new word for post-college life: simplicity.

Using complexity to convey my simple life would be retarded (not to mention hypocritical) so I’ll try to be direct about it. I moved from a city of 100,000 to a city of 15,000,000, yet this move has made life much simpler. I work about 45 hours a week. My free time is spent reading (I’m almost out of books…), hanging out with the few people I know, and exploring my surroundings.

And that’s it.

Every now and then things get a little crazy and I try eating at a different restaurant or something, but things tend to stay about the same here. The best thing about this newfound simplicity is the closeness I feel with God. Here He’s so discernible. In Waco it was all the grades and people that distracted me; the obscenely long to-do lists and Baylor’s annoying religious bubble made it much more challenging to keep perspective.

I know, I know it’s the person that becomes distracted. I know it’s lame to blame the place. I’ve been given a fresh start. Following Jesus can stay basic if I’ll let it, and I’m hoping this simplicity sticks.

Tagged with: , ,

Leave a Reply

