"Thanks and thanks again to Him who offers to the man whom the sorrows of life have assaulted and left naked–offers to him the fig leaf of the Word with which he can cover his wretchedness." -Søren Kierkegaard

Chaing Rai Excursion

Posted in Day-To-Day, Friends, Travel by matt on Monday, June 9, 2008

Cayla and I flew up to Chiang Rai for the weekend to visit some friends. I only knew one of them, so I guess it’s more accurate to call them her friends. Either way, we all know each other now. It’s amazing how strong the camaraderie feels when you’re the spiritual/ethnic/social/and-in-all-other-ways minority. I kinda like it. Like shared cultural body heat.

Anyway I’ve posted a few pictures of our trip on my Flickr site. You can access it by clicking here or on one the pictures down this page.

I’m currently working on a quiz to give my kids this week. It’s strange, but I never considered what life is like for the old fogies on the other side of the school desk. It’s kinda tiring! Anyway I’ve developed a new appreciation (on top of all the others) for my parents and for all the other people who’ve been in education (Bonnie, Goose, Angel, Tim, Mrs. Caplinger).

I’ve also developed an appreciation for the amazing guys I knew at Baylor because I’ve been pretty starved for some quality guy-time. Thankfully I spent a few hours in Chiang Rai last Saturday night playing a game called Rock Band with some of the missionary guys. They designated me their ‘singer’ and we rocked out hardcore. Oasis, Aerosmith, Black Sabbath, and many more. You name it and we covered it.

I guess reality says we were just mashing colorful buttons on plastic guitars and screaming into fake microphones, but for a few minutes we knew we were a totally legit rock band. Or…at least the best one in Chiang Rai, Thailand. Fun stuff. Thai people kept peering through the window to see what the weird foreigners were doing now.

Anyway, I need to put a quiz together for this week and then figure out food. Love you all,

matt

Tagged with: ,

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. jkwakefield said, on Monday, June 9, 2008 at 10:12 am

    Yeah, I have started an intro to business summer-long seminar at Baylor to prepare for MBA stuff that starts in the fall. I’m exhausted.

    This summer, I also live in the exact same room I did two years ago.

  2. bonniebee said, on Monday, June 9, 2008 at 4:19 pm

    oh brother… don’t forget to find the joy in life on the other side of the desk… like when your kids kick butt on the quiz you are giving them because YOU are the EXACT teacher that is supposed to teach them…. less than 10 days into summer I’m starting to miss the desk and the kids on the other side….

  3. matt said, on Monday, June 9, 2008 at 5:53 pm

    Re JK:

    You’re a stud for sticking with your education. I can’t imagine still being in school and I admire your tenacity.

    Which room is that? Not the DZ (or however you guys spelled it) right?

    Re Bonnie:

    I’m trying to find joy in it. I think I’ll need to get a little more accustomed to life as a teacher before it’s something that brings a lot of joy.

    Glad to hear you’re finally being forced to take a break though 8)

  4. macriner said, on Wednesday, June 11, 2008 at 9:35 am

    here’s a quiz for your kidos.

    TRUE or FALSE

    do you like me?

  5. desertrose32 said, on Wednesday, June 11, 2008 at 12:16 pm

    matt! this is michelle henke! i was wondering how things were going in thailand for you and cayla and then i stumbled over your site. from what it looks like, things are going pretty well with all the cayla time, rocking out, teaching, and kirkegaard still wearing out your highlighters. :)
    i’m keeping yall in my prayers! God bless!

  6. matt said, on Friday, June 13, 2008 at 4:03 am

    Re Criner:

    You’re a dork. And I miss you. How was the hot dog shindig?! I’d kill for a good hot dog off the grill…

    Re Michelle:

    Things are indeed going well – especially due to the weekend’s commencement! Thanks for the prayers. (I miss kicking your chair in class…)

  7. macriner said, on Saturday, June 14, 2008 at 5:31 pm

    i resent that. yet appreciate that you dictate truth.

  8. Angel said, on Saturday, June 14, 2008 at 9:00 pm

    haha. I’ve enjoyed reading your blog…especially this one…don’t get too burned out…at least, not yet. :)

    Hope eveything else is going well…talked to Goose and Tim this week…its been awesome…

  9. desertrose32 said, on Sunday, June 15, 2008 at 11:07 am

    have to be honest, i don’t really miss the chair kicking. but i do miss the scintillating conversations about not wanting to hear anything more about our freedom in Christ (three cheers for galatians…) and how you can manipulate les miserables quizzes to get jean valjean as your result.
    :P

  10. matt said, on Monday, June 16, 2008 at 3:50 am

    Re Angel:

    Glad you enjoy it. You should start one…I’d definitely read it. And I’m jealous that you got to talk with Goose AND Tim. I’m actually jealous that they got to talk to you, too.

    Re Michelle:

    I AM Jean Valjean.

    That is all…


Leave a Reply

