"Thanks and thanks again to Him who offers to the man whom the sorrows of life have assaulted and left naked–offers to him the fig leaf of the Word with which he can cover his wretchedness." -Søren Kierkegaard

A ‘Typical’ Day

Posted in Day-To-Day by matt on Wednesday, May 28, 2008

It’s half past six in a hazy, lazy Bangkok and I’m pleased to report that I have transitioned into some small semblance of a ‘routine’. So – hopefully without boring you to tears – here goes:

I wake up around 5.30am to start my day. This includes spending 30 minutes staring into my closet with colorblind eyes, taking a cold shower, eating leftover plane food, and likely muttering groggy prayers into the ears of God throughout the whole process.

The van picks us up at 7 and we’re at school by 7.20. I can either finish/begin planning my lessons for that day, grab breakfast (I rarely know what I’m eating…), attempt a crossword puzzle, or read. I’ll have a class or two, lunch at noon, and then another class – maybe two. Unless there’s something to keep me (like my parent-teacher meeting tomorrow), I usually clock out at 4, catch the van/taxi/tuk-tuk/walk home, and then I enjoy the evening however I see fit, and I usually see fit to explore my neighborhood for some food and crash around 9.30.

This process more or less repeats itself every weekday. I mix things up a bit on the weekends by exploring more of Bangkok than just my neighborhood, and we’re even looking into some up-and-coming domestic and international trips. With airfare as dirt-cheap (3 bucks for a domestic flight!) as it is we’ll have to wait and see what happens…

I’ve posted a few more shots of my first weekend/week here in BKK that may provide a little better visual. Hope this has been informative! Love you all and I’ll post more soon,

matt

Leave a Reply

