"Thanks and thanks again to Him who offers to the man whom the sorrows of life have assaulted and left naked–offers to him the fig leaf of the Word with which he can cover his wretchedness." -Søren Kierkegaard

Made It, Part 2

Posted in Day-To-Day by matt on Sunday, May 25, 2008

A few more things I’m learning/experiencing thus far…

1. When walking through a market this morning a little girl jumped out of my way, grabbed her mom’s wrist, and pointed while squeaking something hilarious in Thai. Suffice it to say…I’m huge, I’m white, and I stick out in Thailand.

2. Cold showers are where it’s at.

3. I don’t think it’s worth handing out a Nobel Peace Prize over, but smog is definitely a problem – if for no other reason than it’s violating my tender lungs.

4. It’s ok to yell at the taxi drivers if they don’t turn the meter on. Shoot it’s actually quite fun.

5. If a Thai menu says “spicy” it means you’ll cry, if it says “hot” you shouldn’t even smell it.

6. Don’t smash ants…one of them might be someone’s dead aunt.

So I know I’ve got some family and friends who wanna hear what’s really going on with my first week of living in Thailand, but I thought I’d throw out one more goofy post before I get to all that. I’ll be putting more stuff into my picture sidebar (scroll down and look right) pretty soon, but it takes quite awhile to upload stuff with my slow internet speed.

Love you all and I particularly love hearing from you. Skype me, comment, Facebook, email…whatever. Peace.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Melissa said, on Monday, May 26, 2008 at 8:54 am

    so glad to hear from you! Keep blogging so I can get all caught up on what is going on with you. Peace and Prayers to you.


Leave a Reply

