"Thanks and thanks again to Him who offers to the man whom the sorrows of life have assaulted and left naked–offers to him the fig leaf of the Word with which he can cover his wretchedness." -Søren Kierkegaard

Made It

Posted in Day-To-Day by matt on Wednesday, May 21, 2008

So after a hefty amount of travel I’m about wiped out. We had a little surprise layover in Tokyo that added a lot of unexpected downtime to the trip.

I suppose this is the part where I tell you something super interesting and exotic, but unfortunately my ability to process and retain information is utterly crapped-out. It took me almost 45 minutes, but I worked it all out in my mind and apparently we traveled for a little over 27 hours and I managed to sleep almost one of them. So three days with only 6 hours of sleep have left me a little zombified.

Anyway, here’s a quick rundown of what happened today before I walk home and crash:

1. I’m teaching 2nd graders for ten months – Lord help them.

2. I received a paycheck and opened a bank account today. One small step for Matt, one tragic leap away from Neverland…

3. Don’t ride the 3-wheeled motor taxis when it’s raining. Or maybe ever. The skytrain is cool, though.

4. Their Wal-Mart (called “Big C”) is bigger than most American malls.

5. Thai people smile a whole lot.

6. One shouldn’t be deceived by a Thai person’s appearance. If she looks 17… she’s actually 34 with two daughters…

7. Air-conditioning was invented by someone who had been ‘come upon’ by the Spirit of God. I love it, appreciate it, and miss it more than ever.

8. God is gracious wherever you are. He matters regardless.

There’s the adventures of the day. Now for some much-needed sleep…

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Bonnie said, on Wednesday, May 21, 2008 at 8:41 am

    yay for making it…. umm 2nd graders! I’ll send you my elementary literacy book if you want… it rocks! email soon!

  2. macriner said, on Wednesday, May 21, 2008 at 1:19 pm

    I see they named their wal-mart after me. how nice of them.

  3. jkwakefield said, on Thursday, May 22, 2008 at 10:49 am

    Dude, you’re going to have a great time with 2nd graders. Just remember they’ve yet to acquire a thought-to-mouth filter, so it should be fun.

  4. matt said, on Thursday, May 22, 2008 at 5:04 pm

    Yaaaaa apparantly they’re all losing their teeth and can’t understand most of what I say. I think it may be a combination of “cute” and “annoying”.

    My other option was 5th graders, and I prolly would’ve smacked one of those and been fired.

  5. jkwakefield said, on Thursday, May 22, 2008 at 7:18 pm

    Well, I’ve just been relaxing and playing video games mostly. I’m leaving with my sister for Oxford, Mississippi tomorrow morning to visit old friends and see the town where I grew up.

  6. Melissa said, on Thursday, May 22, 2008 at 8:44 pm

    Glad you made it safely. Pray for the Steven Curtis Chapman family this week. Their teenage son was driving up in the driveway at their home and he accidently hit and killed his sister. She was 5. So very sad. I wrote about it on my blog.

    We love you Matt, and may the Lord richly bless you this year. Let me know of your address. You can email me at my email address at work. Dried Cranberries, etc…right?


Leave a Reply

