"Thanks and thanks again to Him who offers to the man whom the sorrows of life have assaulted and left naked–offers to him the fig leaf of the Word with which he can cover his wretchedness." -Søren Kierkegaard

Hierarchisizing My Music

Posted in Day-To-Day, Music by matt on Thursday, May 15, 2008

So I’m home, I’m packed, and I’m bored. Unfortunately, each of my four family members has a life outside of this house and obligations to fulfill.

Ridiculous, right?

Anyway this leaves me at home with nothing better to do than organize my iTunes library and perfect the curvature of my toenails with mere fingernail clippers (if you’re not impressed you definitely should be).

And I began to think, ‘What do I really like?’ So I’ve managed to rank my top ten favorite albums.

**A little disclaimer! I’m ranking these by album and not strictly by individual tracks (how does the entire album sound rather than certain songs?)**

That being said,

1. Emery – The Question

2. Radiohead – In Rainbows

3. John Mayer – Continuum

4. Death Cab for Cutie – Plans

5. James Taylor – Greatest Hits: Volume I

6. Les Misérables Highlights – International Cast Recording

7. Coldplay – A Rush of Blood to the Head

8. Coheed & Cambria – In Keeping Secrets of Silent Earth: 3

9. Nobuo Uematsu – Final Fantasy VII Advent Children Original Soundtrack

10. Dispatch – Gut the Van

10 1/2. Emile Pandolfi – By Request (can’t leave out Emile)

10 3/4. Loreena Mckennitt – Book of Secrets (Or Loreena)

Apparently I couldn’t keep it at just ten…but there ya have it, proof of my music-addiction and of my boredom.

11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Melissa said, on Saturday, May 17, 2008 at 1:21 am

    Man, I would have come over and cooked you spaghetti…ha!!!

  2. matt said, on Saturday, May 17, 2008 at 7:48 am

    ya…well most of my friends think i’m weird for throwing it against the wall. thanks a lot for that!

  3. Melissa said, on Saturday, May 17, 2008 at 12:05 pm

    Hey, you learned from the best.! Tell your family I said hello! When do you leave for Thailand?

  4. Melissa said, on Saturday, May 17, 2008 at 12:06 pm

    By the way, check out my blog, your on my friend list like it or not…ha!

  5. Melissa said, on Sunday, May 18, 2008 at 1:04 pm

    My blog address was wrong….here’s the new one in yellow.

  6. matt said, on Sunday, May 18, 2008 at 4:34 pm

    i have you listed too. i’ve checked it out a couple times.

    things are a little crazy right now though so i’ll have to check it again later. i leave tomorrow morning…

  7. Melissa said, on Sunday, May 18, 2008 at 9:41 pm

    I’m praying for you for safe travel, good health, and lots of opportunities to share Christ with others. You are gonna do great. We love you.

  8. Angel said, on Monday, May 26, 2008 at 10:43 pm

    little suprised Les Mis was so far down…really? you rave about it…

  9. matt said, on Tuesday, May 27, 2008 at 7:57 am

    i know, but in terms of just being a soundtrack it’s not quite as good unless it’s performed on stage. in other words the soundtrack is awesome because the actual performance is awesome, but it isn’t as good without being performed.

    does that make any sense?

  10. Angel said, on Thursday, June 5, 2008 at 9:50 pm

    absolutely…nothing compares to the stage. :)
    still…

  11. matt said, on Monday, June 9, 2008 at 5:38 am

    alright! i adjusted my list – and not just because you wanted me to! (ya right)

    the truth is i really like the les mis album better than the coheed album, so i switched them.

    happy?

    =)


Leave a Reply

