"Thanks and thanks again to Him who offers to the man whom the sorrows of life have assaulted and left naked–offers to him the fig leaf of the Word with which he can cover his wretchedness." -Søren Kierkegaard

The Weekend

Posted in Day-To-Day by matt on Sunday, March 2, 2008

 This weekend was good. It was simple, relaxed, and for some reason I didn’t worry about all the things I still need to do. Conversations were richer because they weren’t forced or rushed, and I feel much more satisfied and prepared to hit this week head-on. Yesterday I ate a late lunch with Cindy at a Thai place called Bangkok Royal. I was grateful for her willingness to drive all the way to Waco just to have a short visit with me. The food and the conversation were definitely enjoyed.

  Then, as though the day’s conversation hadn’t been enjoyable enough, the roommates and I were invited to Mr. Negley’s birthday dinner and, rather than letting it be a slightly awkward these-are-my-daughter’s-friends-not-mine type of scenario, the Negley’s made everyone feel welcomed and even led the dinner talk toward spiritual things. I was so encouraged by what people shared about fears and God’s provision in their lives and Mr. Negley definitely showed a lot of insight.

 So since the day was packed full of meaning and depth I decided to go the opposite direction by winding down and watching LOST. I’m trying to skim through the first season and watch the second and third so I can enjoy it with the fellas. The only problem is I can’t handle all the drama, so I have to watch it in incriments. But if I don’t go fast I won’t ever catch up…this is why I don’t watch TV. Ah well, it’s worth it if it means spending some time with the guys.

Leave a Reply

