"Thanks and thanks again to Him who offers to the man whom the sorrows of life have assaulted and left naked–offers to him the fig leaf of the Word with which he can cover his wretchedness." -Søren Kierkegaard

The Right Question

Posted in Questions For You by matt on Thursday, February 14, 2008

I would love to be able to write posts that are cliche-free and dripping with creative energy, but I’m afraid my life is quite normal and full of typical situations that just can’t be avoided. That being said…

College is incredibly pivotal. In one sense we have the opportunity to define who we will be. In history, the majority of people are not able to say anything or make any decisions that will improve their situation. Traditionally, most people have just inherited the family farm or business and carried on with life as they knew it. But! The sweet irony is that we as students are not predetermined laborers – oh we will labor – but we have a say as to how, where, why, and even when we labor.

And this is nice, right? Everyone wants control. The issue I have with college is all the options. Half a dozen people recommending twenty options for life after college and it’s driving me crazy! In some ways I wish I could just go back to the family farm, but I know I’d be unhappy there too.

So all these options and I’m forced to weigh them. And so the questions ensue: What is the best longterm choice financially? What do my parent’s think about this? Where is this? How much will it cost? What does Cayla think? What will I do after? Will I do this as a career or just for awhile? And the list goes on…

But I’m asking the wrong questions. I guess those questions are necessary and I’m sure they have some value, but they’re still not the best question. I believe the right question is “How can I be most effective for the Kingdom of God?” Again, that may sound Sunday Schoolish or cliche, but it’s important that I avoid getting bogged down by all the secondary junk.

Jesus is worthy of everything, I just need to figure out how best to express that…

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. in10tionallyleftbank said, on Thursday, February 21, 2008 at 10:22 pm

    YOur parents would probably say “We can’t be prouder.” James Taylor would say, “The secret of life is enjoying the passage of time.” What would Jesus say?

  2. matticas said, on Monday, February 25, 2008 at 12:11 pm

    mmmm James. I heart me some J.T.


Leave a Reply

